Academic Calendars

SUMMER 2021
Event Summer Session I Summer Session II
Registration begins for all students Thursday, March 25 Thursday, March 25
Intent to graduate 4 May 10 through June 18 May 10 through June 18
Classes begin 1 Monday, May 10 Monday, June 28
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Memorial Day Holiday - No classes Saturday, May 29 through Monday, May 31  
Independence Day Holiday - No classes   Saturday, July 3 through Monday, July 5
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Saturday, June 26 Thursday, August 12
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, August 14 Saturday, August 14
FALL 2021
Event Fall Session I Fall Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, June 7 at noon Monday, June 7 at noon
Intent to graduate activation period 4 August 16 through September 7 August 16 through September 7
Classes begin 1 Monday, August 23 Monday, October 18
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Labor Day Weekend - No classes Saturday, September 4 through Monday, September 6  
Thanksgiving Break   Monday, November 22 through Sunday, November 28
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Monday, October 11 Thursday, December 9
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, December 18 Saturday, December 18
SPRING 2022
Event Spring Session I Spring Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, October 25 at noon Monday, October 25 at noon
Intent to graduate 4 January 2 through January 25 January 2 through January 25
Classes begin 1 Monday, January 10 Monday, March 14
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Martin Luther King Day – No classes Monday, January 17  
Spring Break   Tuesday, March 1 through Sunday, March 13
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3

View academic calendar deadlines

View academic calendar deadlines

Classes end Monday, February 28 Thursday, April 28
Commencement (Great Valley) 4 Friday, May 6 Friday, May 6
SUMMER 2022
Event Summer Session I Summer Session II
Registration begins for all students February 2022 February 2022
Intent to graduate 4 May 9 through June 17 May 9 through June 17
Classes begin 1 Monday, May 9 Monday, June 27
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Memorial Day Holiday - No classes Monday, May 30  
Independence Day Holiday - No classes   Monday, July 4
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Wednesday, June 22 Thursday, August 11
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, August 13 Saturday, August 13

**These calendars are subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, it is impossible to avoid conflict with some religious holidays. As conflicts arise, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Calendar Footnotes

  1. See course listings for actual course start/end dates.
  2. Student action must be with the Registrar's Office
  3. These dates apply only to courses that begin and end as shown.  Contact the Registrar's Office for information on courses with other begin and end dates. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
  4. Graduation at Penn State Great Valley is held every spring. See the Spring Academic Calendars for those dates. University Park will mail diplomas to the home addresses.