Academic Calendars

Academic Calendars

FALL 2016
Event Fall Session I Fall Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, June 6 Monday, June 6
Intent to graduate 4 August 15 through September 6 August 15 through September 6
Classes begin 1 Monday, August 22 Monday, October 17
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Labor Day Weekend - No classes Saturday, September 3 through Monday, September 5  
Thanksgiving Holiday - No classes   Wednesday, November 23 through Sunday, November 27
Late drop 2, 3    
Withdrawal 3    
Classes end Saturday, October 15 Saturday, December 10
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, December 17 Saturday, December 17

SPRING 2017
Event Spring Session I Spring Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, October 24 Monday, October 24
Intent to graduate 4 January 2 through 23 January 2 through 23
Classes begin 1 Monday, January 9 Tuesday, March 7
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Martin Luther King Day - No classes Monday, January 16  
Spring break - No classes Tuesday, February 28- Monday, March 6  
Late drop 2, 3    
Withdrawal 3    
Classes end Monday, February 27 Monday, April 24
Commencement (Great Valley) 4 Friday, May 5 Friday, May 5

SUMMER 2017
Event Summer Session I Summer Session II
Registration begins for all students Friday, February 3 Friday, February 3
Intent to graduate 4 May 8 through June 16 May 8 through June 16
Classes begin 1 Monday, May 8 Monday, June 26
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Memorial Day Holiday - No classes Saturday, May 27 through Monday, May 29  
Independence Day Holiday - No classes   Tuesday, July 4
Late drop 2, 3    
Withdrawal 3    
Classes end Saturday, June 24 Wednesday, August 9
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, August 12 Saturday, August 12

FALL 2017
Event Fall Session I Fall Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, June 5 Monday, June 5
Intent to graduate 4 August 14 through September 5 August 14 through September 5
Classes begin 1 Monday, August 21 Monday, October 16
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Labor Day Holiday - No classes Saturday, September 2 through Monday, September 4  
Thanksgiving Holiday - No classes   Wednesday, November 22 through Sunday, November 26
Late drop 2, 3    
Withdrawal 3    
Classes end Saturday, October 14 Saturday, December 9
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, December 16 Saturday, December 16

**These calendars are subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, it is impossible to avoid conflict with some religious holidays. As conflicts arise, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Calendar Footnotes

  1. See course listings for actual course start/end dates.
  2. Student action must be with the Registrar's Office
  3. These dates apply only to courses that begin and end as shown.  Contact the Registrar's Office for information on courses with other begin and end dates.  Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
  4. Graduation at Penn State Great Valley is held every spring.  See the Spring Academic Calendars for those dates. University Park will mail diplomas to the home addresses.